Where We Are

Te Rohe o Kōperu

Our ancestor Kōperu, and his descendants, occupied lands in our western takiwā of Matamata known as Te Rohe o Kōperu and lands in the east called Te Angaroa.

Our tūrangawaewae extends from the Matamata district in the west to Manawarū in the north. It goes across to Waipuna and eastward to Waiorongomai, just south of Te Aroha.

It then extends towards Tauranga Moana, south to Wairoa, then west to Hinuera, to Te Tāpui, and north to Peria on the outskirts of Matamata.

Tūtohu Whenua

We are a hinterland and coastal iwi, who reside in the Kaimai Range.  We have many maunga that are important to us, each with their own kōrero and history, these include Pukekōhatu, Ngā Tamāhine e Rua, Motutāpere, Te Hanga, Waianuanu, Weraiti, Whenua ā-Kura, Te Ara Pōhatu and many more.

The tūpuna maunga (pictured) is Te Weraiti which overlooks our four marae in Ōkauia.

Significant awa include Waihou, Wairoa, Waiorongomai, Te Kuri o Manako, Mangamāku, Mangapiko, Waiomu and Mangawhero.

Our tāheke include Te Wairere and Waiteariki.

Our ngāwhā include Papahuia, Waiteariki, Taihoa and many other smaller geothermal areas that adorn our whenua.



  • Tauranga Moana provided a ready supply of kaimoana, the forests of the Kaimai Range were a valuable source of birds, kiore, herbs used for medicinal purposes and timber for building shelters and waka.
  • Swamp lands provided access to tuna, birds, harakeke and kiekie.
  • Hot springs were used for bathing, cooking and healing.
  • The Ngāti Hinerangi rohe once included multiple tracks and trails that provided two-way access from inland to the coast.

Hapū and Marae

Ngāti Hinerangi is made up of eight hapū including Ngāti Te Riha, Ngāti Tamapango, Ngāti Kura, Ngāti Tāwhaki, Ngāti Rangi, Ngāti Tokotoko, Ngāti Tangata and Ngāti Whakamaungārangi.

These hapū are associated with the four marae in the settlement of Ōkauia including Hinerangi Tāwhaki, Te Ōhākī, Tangata and Tamapango.

These marae are all nestled in the foothills of the Kaimai Range at the foot of Te Weraiti.

Ngāti Hinerangi and its hapū occupied and maintained settlements at Ōkauia, Wairoa, Whakamārama, Te Irihanga, Hūhārua and Aongatētē.

Want to learn more?